Emory Alumni Association

GALA Leadership Award

Emory University's LGBT Alumni Group, GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni), created this award to recognize established and emerging LGBT student leadership exercised on behalf of the queer community at Emory and to provide meaningful financial support. Emory Alumni Board (EAB) member and former GALA co-chair Sharon Semmens 80C 80G was the principal architect and fund-raiser for the Leadership Award fund. The first GALA scholarship, awarded in 2009 to Olivia Wise 10C of Lawrenceville, GA, was funded with additional cash donations rather than endowment interest. In late 2009 the fund was endowed with $100,000 in private donations, including a challenge grant by Mr. Randy New, 76C 82L.  In addition to recognizing members of the LGBT and allied communities, the GALA Leadership Award enables recipients to matriculate through Emory with less financial burden. 

The award of $5,000 is presented each year at the Annual Pride Awards hosted by the Office of LGBT Life. Six students have received this award since its inception; the newest scholarship winner will be announced at the 23rd Annual Pride Awards on March 3, 2015.

Thanks to the GALA Leadership Award and other efforts to support LGBT students, Emory recently received a five-star rating in the latest LGBT Friendly Campus Climate Index – the highest possible ranking and the only school in the Southeast to achieve that rank.

To apply for this award, please visit the Office of LGBT Life website.

Emory University

Support the Emory LGBT Community

Campaign EmoryEmory Gay and Lesbian Alumni (GALA) maintains and seeks to expand a network of alumni of Emory University in order to organize, serve and advocate for Emory's lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community. Please consider making a donation to support the GALA Leadership AwardJ. Michael Aycock Leadership Development FundDr. Daniel D. Adame Leadership Fund,Office of LGBT Life, or the program of your choice. Click to read more about the GALA Leadership Award, the Office of LGBT Life Leadership Awards, and Campaign Emory. Every gift matters.